About Icon About


About Me


My name is Justin Goulet. I am 24 years old with a Bachelors of Computer Science from California State University San Marcos. I have many siblings (4 step siblings and 4 complete) and am a huge family man.

I spend the majority of my time with my family: camping in the desert, going to the river, hanging out at home, and much more. Every night, we all gather around the dinner table and catch up on everyone's day. We learn of days at work, baseball practice and other expereinces and all laugh as we enjoy our meals.

Currently, I am a PC Technician at the City of Carlsbad, California. I changed departments from the Parks & Recreation department to the Information Technology Departmenr in March to gain professional experience working in an IT environment. I have been working with the City of Carlsbad for over 5 years (the duration of my college) and have a specialty of developing software in my free time.

In school, I completed many side-projects that have contributed to my liking for mobile development. I created a wide array of applications in a variety of languages and especially like creating iOS applications. My most recent one, Beer Hopper had a focus on design and RESTful APIs as I enhanced my development skills further into mulithreading and custom database integration.

My Hobbies and Interests

I love to be outdoors when I am not coding. I have gone on cruises, roadtrips, lake trips, ski trips, deep sea fishing, dirtbike riding, white water rafting and have been to several national parks all over the country.

As noted earlier, I am a huge family man. I leaned to love computers when I was a teenage and have always been learning what is possible as I have grown. At a young age, I became the IT man in the family working with a variety of tasks such as basic networking anc computer configuration.

When I attended MiraCosta, I fell in love with Computer Science. It was the perfect opportunity for me to learn problem solving on a whole, new level. I started developing iOS applications in just my second semester and have loved it ever since. At my highest point, I had over 15 applications in the store and have so far achieved over 45,000 downloads without a cent of advertising.

While most of my applications do not feature great graphics, I will admit that they are pretty bad, that was not my focus. I was learning how to achieve something new in each application. They kept my development skills sharp, and I always had to learn something new to keep up with the challenges.

My newest applications, BeerHopper, are my favorite not for the quality, but becuase I get to combine 2 things that I love: Visiting Microbreweries and developing applications. Something I wish to achieve in this application is to add navigation to different microbreweries, and add beer-hopping-tours as a key component. While this app may not be successful since the market is already saturated, I am working on this application as a side project as a 'just for fun'.

If you wish to learn more about me, send me an email. I would love to hear from you!

Languages Used

Coding Activity